Yummiest Granola Ever!

Standard

I love granola.  I think I should say that again.  I love granola.  I also love my baby’s feet, but that is not relevant here, so back to the granola… which I love.  Granola has sustained me food wise for many years.  I would make big batches of it in college and eat it for three meals a day. Granola is also comforting to me.  After I had Cora my mom came and stayed with me for a week, and one of many things she did was make granola.  Those first few weeks of motherhood were so crazy, and that granola helped hold me together, in a really weird why-does-she-love-granola-so-much kind of way.  So here is my mom’s recipe (I don’t know where she got it.  I’m assuming a sweet old grandma who wears a bonnet), which you should make tomorrow.  And then you can come back and tell me how you made it and all of your problems seemed to go away and how you now want to have a baby. I don’t know why I said that.

Granola:

6 cups oats. Not the instant kind
1/2 cup coconut oil. (this stuff is great yo. It’s sold in the same section as veggie/canola oil) (You can use veggie oil)
2/3 cup honey
1/3 cup brown sugar
2 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp vanilla
Nuts, dates, dried fruit, cranberries, and what ever kind of goodness you choose to add.

Mix honey, oil, and brown sugar in a sauce pan over medium heat until dissolved. Stir in cinnamon and vanilla. In a large bowl combine the other ingredients besides fruit. Pour mixture over oats and stir until combined. Lay parchment paper on a large baking sheet, and spread granola. Bake at 325 for 15 minutes, stir, and then bake another 10 minutes. Take out of the oven and cool. Break it up (I like to leave chunks) and put it into pretty containers.  Also, if you are going to take pictures, try not to eat it all first.

Leave a Reply

