Seriously the Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookies

Standard

There are few things that I am convinced of.  I am convinced that the world is in some way a better place because of Nora Effron writing Sleepless in Seattle and You’ve Got Mail.  I am convinced that babies are better than puppies.  And I am convinced that these chocolate chip cookies are the best ever. My conviction of this last point wavered a bit when pinterest was full of chocolate chip cookies claiming to be the best ever.  So I read the recipes and saw that pretty much I was going to have to grow my own wheat to make flour, and find a cocoa tree somewhere to make my own chocolate if I really wanted the best ever chocolate chip cookies.  But part of my conviction of what makes a cookie the best ever is that it must be something that can be easily made.  There are certainly things worth working for, but a good cookie should not be one of them.  Because sometimes you just need to eat some cookie dough, I mean cookies, and you don’t want to wait for the wheat harvest.

Yesterday was one of those days for me.  It was one of those days that I felt I was swimming in a big pool of jello, except not nearly as delicious, so maybe a big pool of whipped up lima beans.  By the time dinner was done, and the munchkin was in bed, I just needed the best ever chocolate chip cookie and a little baking therapy.

Besides this cookie being easy to make, it is also the best ever because of this

Grinding the oats into flour gives the cookies a super amazing texture. It also allows you to mess with the consistency of the cookies, giving them as much or as little texture as you like.

1 cup butter (which is two sticks yo)
1 cup sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/2 cups oats (old fashioned, not instant!)
2 cups flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 bag chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350. Cream together butter, sugar and eggs. Add vanilla. Grind oats in a food processor into a semi fine flour. Add oats and remaining dry ingredients into sugar mixture. Add chocolate chips (I like milk chocolate chips because I’m weird.)

The baking part of the cookie is really important. In general I would say bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes. But the first go around I would watch them the entire time. You don’t want your cookies to be golden. In my janky… cranky?… yankee? (whatever word means my oven cooks hotter on one side) oven the cookies were done at about 8 and half minutes and looked like this:

Also, I’m not a fan of room temperature cookies, so I cook as many as will be eaten at a time, stick half of the remaining dough in a ziplock bag in the fridge. The other remaining half  goes in a ziplock bag in the freezer because it is harder to eat frozen cookie dough. Harder, but not impossible.

Yummy!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

