Barn Wood is my Friend

Standard

Last year for my birthday my husband gave me a bunch of really interesting pieces of barn wood that came from a barn dated back to the Civil War.  I love history, wood, and barns, so pretty much a score there.  One piece that I loved was this big beam.  It is solid, heavy, and has so much character.  We think it will make a lovely mantel someday, but for now we came up with this idea.  A bench to fit along a wall in our living room.  I love simplistic, and I love industrial/rustic, so we choose to simply secure it to cinder blocks.  The end result just makes me so happy!  PS. don’t worry, it is carefully and cleverly secured so no babies or dogs could knock it over 🙂

Leave a Reply

