Really Super Yummy Chicken Crock Pot Nacho/Soft Taco Goodness

Standard

I really do enjoy cooking and baking but have a hard time with two things in particular.  Number one is that I can’t seem to make myself set a timer.  I  just assume that I will check on it.  But then I don’t, ever, so I burn things a lot.  The second thing is that I like to tweak recipes I find based on what sounds the best to me, and more importantly what I have in my pantry.  That is not a bad thing until you make something yummy, want to share it with someone, and now have a hard time describing how big the spoonful was of something you added.  This recipe falls into this category.  I was trying out this recipe I found on pinterest.  It was the base for the recipe I tried, but on request from my honey, I made it into nachos.  Here is what I did:

4 boneless skinless chicken breast (I had tenders on hand and used about 1.5 lbs or half the bag.)

1 can cream of mushroom soup (cream of chicken would work)

1 1/2 to 2 cups of salsa

1 tsp Paprika

1 tsp chili powder (more to taste)

1 sliced green bell pepper

1/2 yellow onion

3/4 cup of sour cream

Put can of soup, salsa, spices, onion and pepper into crock pot and mix together.  Add frozen chicken and mix till covered.  Turn the crock pot on high and bake for about 4 hours.  Spoon the chicken (without all the salsa mixture) into a Kitchen Aid mixer and shred. (You can also shred with forks, but I will be sad for you because that takes forever and Kitchen Aids are awesome.)  Add the shredded chicken and sour cream back into the crock pot and stir until combined. You can add more of the salsa and sour cream to match the texture you want.   You could eat these on a soft taco with some Pepper Jack cheese, or over tortilla chips with cheese like we did.  SO super easy, and so super yummy!

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

